Supported by the European Union Structural Funds, the Graduate School of Culture Studies and Arts (GSCSA) is a joint venture of four Estonian universities: Tallinn University (coordinator of GSCSA), University of Tartu, Estonian Academy of Music and TheatreĀ  and Estonian Academy of Arts.

GSCSA was established to advance the academic level of PhD programmes of culture studies and arts in Estonia, and to integrate institutionally and administratively separated reseachers of culture. The project will run for 6 years, from 2014 to 2020, and it is aimed, first and foremost, towards graduate students enrolled in the following PhD programmes:

  • Tallinn University: 1) studies of cultures; 2) history.
  • University of Tartu: 1) literature and cultural research; 2) history; 3) semiotics and culture studies (main subject culture and nature); 4) Germanic and Romance languages and literatures (main subject literature); 5) theology.
  • Estonian Academy of Music and Theatre: 1) musicology; 2) dramatic art; 3) music.
  • Estonian Academy of Arts: 1) art history; 2) art and design; 3) protection of cultural heritage and conservation; 4) architecture and town planning.